Academic Tests

Test Time

Students will take many different tests throughout their academic career. The tests are important for assessing the performance of both the students and the teachers. This section provides information about academic tests and how you can help your child prepare for them. There is detained information about standardized tests for specific states, high stakes testing and as college entrance exams like the ACT. Please select an article below to learn more.

An introduction to standardized testing

Standardized testing plays a prominent part in our education system every year. No matter how you feel about it, it's important for children to do their best. Poor test scores can have a big impact on their education, so play an active role and...

Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT

The Connecticut Academic Performance Test, or CAPT for short, is a test taken by all public high school sophomores in the state of Connecticut. Read on to learn more about the exam and the types of questions it asks.

High Stakes Testing

Many tests are for evaluation purposes only, but some tests have direct consequences in the educational experience of a specific student. These tests are known as 'High Stakes' tests. Read on to learn more about 'High Stakes' tests.

Pennsylvania System of School Assessment Test (PSSA)

The Pennsylvania's System of School Assessment test (PSSA) is administered to determine whether standards set by the government are being met by students in Pennsylvania classrooms. Read on to learn more.

The ACT exam

Every year, high school juniors across the country take the ACT exam. A top score on the ACT can help you get into the college of their choice. Learn more about ACT basics here.

The Alabama High School Graduation Exam

To evaluate the readiness for graduation of a high schooler who has completed the minimum course requirements, Alabama administers the AHSGE (Alabama High School Graduation Exam). Read more to learn about the test and other graduation requirements.

The Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT)

The Connecticut Mastery Test, aka CMT, is given to 4th, 6th and 8th graders in Connecticut public schools in order to measure student achievement. Read on to learn more.

The CRCT Test

The Criterion Referenced Competency Test (CRCT) is administered to students in the Georgia school system. Read this article to learn about the specifics of this state-wide assessment test.

The EOG Test

Third, fifth and eighth grade students in North Carolina are required to pass the EOG test. Read this article to learn how parents can help their students succeed in the math and reading sections of the EOG.

The FCAT Test

In Florida, third grade students are required to pass the FCAT test before being promoted to the fourth grade and highschoolers must pass it in order to graduate. Learn how to help your student excel at this challenging set of exams.

The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT)

The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) evaluates Reading, Mathematics, Science and Writing. Read on to learn more about the test and the students who take it.

The ISAT Test

Learn the requirements of the ISAT for third, fifth and eighth grade students and what parents can do to help their children prepare for the test.

The Maryland School Assessment (MSA)

The Maryland School Assessment (MSA) tests students for mastery of topics in reading and mathematics. Read on for more about the test.

The MCAS Test

Massachusetts students in public or charter schools are required to take the MCAS tests. It's important for parents and students to understand the nature of the MCAS and the reasons for taking them before the tests are administered.

The New Hampshire Educational Improvement and Assessment Program (NHEIAP)

The New Hampshire Educational Improvement and Assessment Program (NHEIAP) is an exam that provides invaluable feedback to students and teachers. Read on to learn more about how the NHEIAP can be used to increase the quality of education offered...

The SOL Test

The SOL is Virginia's statewide, standardized educational assessment test required of students in 3rd, 5th, and 8th grades. Read on to understand the methods and rationale behind the test, as well as tips for how to prepare for it.

The TAKS Test

Read this article to learn about the Texas Assessment of Knowledge Skills (TAKS) test and how parents can help their children do well in areas such as mathematics and reading.

The WASL Test

The WASL is the standardized, educational assessment test administered by the state of Washington. Parents should learn about the elements of the test and the rationale behind it before they are administered to their children. This article...